Prologue

The wheel shifts under my hands and the truck veers at 60 k’s an hour off the side of the highway. I wrestle for control, pull the handbrake, but it’s too late – the cabin lurching inevitably up off the road and onto a steep, grassy incline. A metallic clang as our cargo – twenty two tonnes of packed glass – bumps against the chassis. I bring the truck to a halt and just sit there, head in my hands. God, I’m an idiot. I was trying to take a screenshot of rain.

2015-06-04_00003DS

This is Eurotruck Simulator 2, and if you’d told me three months ago that I’d end up pouring upwards of 40 hours into it I would have laughed in your face. ‘Who wants to play a game where you just drive down roads?’ I would have asked. ‘Why not just get a job as an actual truck driver?’ Well there’s an easy answer to that second one, namely that I don’t want to die (see above paragraph for details.)

But it’s more than immortality that keeps bringing me back. Eurotruck 2 is a game about listening to music as you cruise through the woods at sunset. It’s about the satisfaction of backing a trailer neatly into its parking space – something you swore you’d never be able to do. And when I realised this game had a dedicated Photo Mode… that’s when I developed a problem.

2015-05-29_00001DS

2015-05-27_00009DS

2015-05-25_00007DS

That’s my truck, Furiosa, and over the next few weeks I’d like to bring you along on my journey through this ama –

Wait a minute. Where is everybody?

My whole house is empty. What –

The dogs are barking. Mojo’s got something in his fur. The nail clippers aren’t in their usual place in the drawer. Something’s wrong. Have I – How long have I been driving this truck?

I shake the thought off. My family has disappeared and it’s up to me to find them. I set out on my quest.

Search1DS

SEARCH2DS

SEARCH3DS

Finally, I find something.

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.34.19 am

It’s not much to go on, but it’s all I have at this point.

Could my family really have gotten all the way to Canada without my noticing? How is that possible? What could have kept me that preoccupi – You know what it doesn’t matter. I set a course for the nearest sea port and arrange passage on the first ship to the provinces. We set sail at dawn.

I realise this will not be an easy task. I know I’ll have to contend with foreign road rules, unfamiliar streets. I’ll have to learn the ins and outs of the area. Ask around. Gain the trust of the people.

I’m going to have to blend in.

PERFECTDS

TO BE CONTINUED

